Book Review – White Night (Dresden Files #9) by Jim Butcher

Good Morning, Blogland!

Today I’m going to talk about White Night by Jim Butcher. I listened to this audiobook a couple weeks ago now, so this might not be as detailed as my book reviews usually are.

Beware the spoilers!

White night

So, this book picks up about a year after Proven Guilty. Harry is still a Warden, Molly is his apprentice, and Murphy lost her position as the Chief of Special Investigations. Thomas is still oddly aloof, and Harry can tell he’s been feeding again, but other than that, he knows nothing.

Things seem pretty calm, until Murphy calls Harry in to check out the scene of a suspected suicide. Turns out, there are some supernatural forces at work, picking off low-level practitioner women, and making it look like suicide. Now, these women aren’t strong enough practitioners to be members of the White Council, but they are citizens of Chicago, and that means they are Harry’s responsibility. He takes the case.

This book is great because all of my favorite characters make an appearance. Butters is around because he lets Harry into the morgue to inspect a corpse. Mouse is around for almost every scene, because that dog is freaking awesome, and really good at protecting people. Murphy’s investigating with Harry by taking some personal leave. Ramirez gets called in when the going gets tough, and even Elaine shows up because she was hired by the remaining cadre of women fearing for their lives.

And then there’s Thomas. He’s a main suspect of this book, which I balked at immediately. The evidence all points to him, but I love  Thomas and will defend him to my dying breath. I knew he wasn’t killing those women.

He was saving them.

Duh-Doi, Harry!

Dresden Warcry.jpg

Harry and  Thomas on the cover the of the graphic novel “Warcry”

So, Thomas is in the book a lot, which is always a good thing. And to be perfectly honest, any book that has  Ramirez and Thomas is almost guaranteed to be one of my favorites. I love snarky, cocky men. So sue me.

Anyway, it turns out there’s a plot by the White Court (Thomas’ type of vampire) trying to frame Harry for the murders so that the Court can move against the Council, as well as dethrone the Raiths (Thomas’ direct family, currently the leaders of the White Court). Harry calls their bluff and enters into a duel with the two vamps responsible for the murders, with Ramirez as his dueling partner.

Shit goes sideways quick, because it turns out the White Court wasn’t acting on their own. Remember Cowl, from Dead Beat? He was a powerful Necromancer that Dresden tried to crush with a car and couldn’t. Yeah, he’s back and he’s working for the Black Council trying to squish what remains of the White Council while it’s vulnerable in its war with the Red Court.

You know, when I started reading Dresden all those years ago, I never imagined it would get so political. I ain’t even mad.

Anyway, Cowl was helping from the Nevernever, causing all kinds of problems with a never-ending army of super-soldier ghouls. Pretty much the entire White Court, except for the Raiths, dies. Harry very nearly dies. Ramirez takes a knife to the calf and one to the gut and I almost cried. If Butcher kills Carlos Ramirez, I will riot. Thomas survives pretty much unscathed in true Thomas fashion, but he risks it all to save Justine, his former meal/lover of choice, whom he is madly in love with and therefore can never be with again.

Carlos Ramirez

Warden Carlos Ramirez, also in “Warcry”

That’s a whole long story that you should be caught up on if you’ve read the books.

But, the only reason any of them live is because John Marcone rides in with mercenaries and riddles the place with bullets. Oh, and plants a bomb to destroy the cave they were battling in.

I’m not really doing this scene justice, it was long and action packed and really well done, with lots of moving pieces to keep track of. By the end of it, Harry and the White Court are on thin ice, Ramirez and Elaine are hospitalized but will survive. The deaths are avenged and the practitioners of Chicago are safe once more.

And Harry finally finds out what the hell Thomas does to make so much money… He went to cosmetology school and opened his own Salon. Yep. Thomas, at work, is  Thomas (the French pronunciation: Toe-mah), a gay, French rockstar hairstylist. He makes the big bucks and is able to feed discretely without hurting anyone.

I laughed so hard, because it’s ridiculous and yet so perfectly Thomas.  The book ends with the brothers enjoying a laugh at the whole scenario, a rare and warm moment between them.

There are other developments throughout the book, including some big stuff between Dresden and Lasciel, and a coming clean discussion between Dresden and Ramirez. They had a rough summer in New Mexico when ghouls attacked and killed several Wardens-in-Training on their watch. Suffice it to say, I already loved Ramirez as a character, but he is now precious to me and I will defend him with my life.

Layout 1

Thomas and Ramirez working together in “Warcry”, because dreams do come true.

As usual, the narration by James Marsters was A+ quality. He had to read a really terrible scene in which a mother holds her dying child and his narration made me pause so I could pull myself together. It was… haunting. I can no longer even entertain ideas of reading these books instead of listening to them. It’s just not an option any more.

Needless to say, I love this series, and plan on continuing it until I’m all caught up.

Unfortunately my reading has really slowed lately as I’m trying to finish my fanfic before NaNoWriMo. But, hopefully I can finish The Stone Sky soon-ish.

Until then, Blogland!

 

BZ

 

Leave a Reply

