Goals Summary 1/9

Hello Blogland!

First and foremost, what does everyone think of the new appearance? It’s sort of a tradition of mine that the blog gets a new look each year, and though I was quite partial to the 2016 edition, I have a lot of love in my heart for 2017’s new look.

Hopefully you all feel the same.

So, last week, I’m calling a mulligan. It snowed, I had a migraine, and there was a SERIOUS New Year’s Eve hangover in there somewhere. Basically, I was useless all week, aside from listening to audiobooks while my migraine kept me awake.

In non-writing news, Trevor and I changed our diet to be back on Keto. It was something we’d discussed at length, and decided to enact after the holidays. The lack of grains and sugar is just so much better for him. He sleeps through the night, isn’t gaggy every morning, and it helps his digestion.

I don’t experience much of these changes, or at least not as drastically, but I like the food so I don’t mind committing to the diet to help him.

I’ve taken up a fairly vigorous (for me) yoga routine, and have stopped biting my nails. Typing now is very strange, and it’s going to take time to get used to where to place my fingers all over again.

Otherwise, I spent a good portion of my day today planning out my writing and editing schedules, and I’m feeling good about where the year is heading. But, let’s break it down for this week.

Week of January 9th:

  • Finish writing chapter 11 of From the Quorum
  • Finish reading A Borrowed Man by Gene Wolf
  • Publish two blog posts

That’s all for now. I’m gunning for 12k words a month, when I’m not editing, and I’m already a week behind. Hopefully FtQ will continue to flow as it has in the past. I should have the first book review of 2017 up on Thursday, Blood Rites by Jim Butcher. It was the aforementioned audiobook, so keep your eyes peeled for that one.

In non-weekly goals, part of my outlining this morning included penciling in time to start reworking The Steel Armada into its third draft. I’ve told myself that I can’t edit Cards until The Steel Armada is done, and I have a feeling that the third draft will be close enough to count. There’s no point putting it off any further. So, the month of February will start my dive into the hard rewriting and problem-solving I’ve been avoiding.

While all that heavy lifting happens, I’ll cut my word count goal for FtQ down to 500 words/day, meaning “writing day” which is roughly three days a week. Anything beyond that is gravy.

As long as I finish the rough draft of FtQ this year, I’ll be happy. Getting The Steel Armada into draft #3 by July is my goal, followed by getting Cards into draft #2 by the New Year. Somewhere in there I’ll rewrite and perfect The Portrait of Sterling Madison.

2017 is going to be busy! Mainly with projects and writing. I cannot wait to see what I can accomplish.

Until Thursday Blogland,

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

