Goals Summary Wk of 10/24

Happy Halloween!!!

It’s our first Halloween in the house, and my first time ever handing out candy to trick or treaters. It was the best! This whole weekend has been wonderful. We went out with friends Saturday night to celebrate Halloween in a more adult way: with beer and dancing! Photos to follow. And then Sunday was spent recuperating by bingeing on Stargate SG-1 all day. It was the most relaxed I’ve been in months.

shaun-stage-1

I was stopped at least five times with, “you’ve got red on you.”

But, there’s more to discuss here than just the general awesomeness of Halloween. Goals, for instance!

Last week’s goals were:

  • Publish 2 blog posts
  • Write Library of Souls Book Review
  • Write 750 words for From the Quorum

What did I accomplish? Prepare the fanfare! I met all my goals this week! That’s the first time since I started tracking goals, and I’ll say, I did more than just meet them. Yes, I published two posts. Yes, one of them was the Library of Souls book review. And yes, I wrote 750 words of the novel. And another 1,158 words.

shaun-stage-2

Word of advice: splurge for the fake, washable blood. Red pen bleeds through to the skin…

That’s right, a total of 1,908 words this week! I was giddy with joy and relief as I tracked the word count. It felt so good to just sit for three hours and write something new. And it was actually a really wonderful and quaint scene. Probably complete garbage as far as pacing and fitting in with the rest of the book, but hey, it’s words on the page. Plus, the dreaded chapter 7 is now complete. I’m on to the next one, which is a great way to start NaNo.

Speaking of which, that’s tomorrow! Holy crow! Where did the time go? So, what’s the plan? Write every day. 500 words each day. Anything beyond that is gravy. The end goal is that, by the end of the month, I’ll be writing over 1,000 words a day, every day. Although, I’d be happy with 5k a week. Ultimately I just want this month to help me learn to carve out writing time, while I work 45+ hours a week. It’s a tall order, but I’m coming in pretty confident.

We’ll see how long that lasts.

So, this week’s goals are:

  • Publish 2 blog posts
  • Write Beacon 23 book review
  • Read A Borrowed Man by Gene Wolfe (hopefully write book review)
  • Write 500 words a day 11/1-11/6 = 3,000 words

That’s a tall order, but that’s the plan. Swing by next Monday for a recap on Week One of NaNoWriMo and  a look at my goal completion!

As usual, until next time Blogland!

shaun-stage-3

That’s a homemade “cricket” bat. Because my husband is the best!

 

BZ

 

One thought on “Goals Summary Wk of 10/24

Leave a Reply

