Goals Summary Wk of 9/26

Hey Blogland,

So this last week’s goals were a little ambitious, because I wanted to make up for the previous week’s utter failure. Luckily I landed somewhere in the middle, and I feel pretty good about it.

So, goals were:

  • Publish 2 blog posts
  • A Monster Calls book review
  • Golden Son book review
  • Morning Star book review
  • Finish chapter 7 of Jordinn’s Story

I completed the first three, and actually made a tiny bit of progress on the chapter. Some streamlining and outlining mostly. But, I have a much better idea of where the chapter is going and how it connects to the subsequent chapters that are already outlined.

So, overall, I feel good about this last week. Not writing the Morning Star book review is all right, mainly because I need time to absorb the material. I’m excited to talk to all of you about it, just as soon as I’ve come to terms with the fact that the series is over.

So, what’s on the docket for this week?

  • Publish two blog posts
  • Morning Star book review
  • finish chapter 7 of Jordinn’s Story

I know, what a lax week. But, I feel good about the work load, and I need to be more realistic with my goals. Setting small, achievable goals is the key to growing success. Yes, I want to challenge myself, especially since I so desperately need and want to get back into my old writing habits, but if I keep falling short week after week, it’ll become discouraging.

So, let’s lower the bar a bit until I start consistently meeting and exceeding goals. I’m alright with that.

In other news, Trevor and I bought a dining set today. I’m in love with it, and can’t wait to actually have a meal we prepared at it. This house is coming together bit by bit, transforming into a home before our eyes. Sorry for the sap, but it’s true.

Also, if you haven’t checked out The Audient Void yet, now is the time. Issue #2 is right around the corner! Click here to visit the Facebook page!

And, just as an update, I’ve decided that I am going to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I’ll be working on Jordinn’s Story, and though I don’t imagine I’ll win this year, it’ll be nice to get back to writing every single day. Even if it’s just 500 words over breakfast.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at right now. Social activities are at a minimum this week. Yesterday was my mother-in-law’s birthday, so we had the folks over and made dinner. Saturday was my first day on my new schedule, which is working 10+ hours straight between the two jobs.

But, this week? We’ve got nothing planned. I’m pretty excited about it.

So, keep an eye out for the Morning Star book review sometime this week. I’m trying to read A Dance of Cloaks. I’m 45 pages in, and I have zero urge to get further. But I know better than to judge a fantasy book by its slow beginning. I’ll keep trucking on.

See you soon Blogland,

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

