A Calm Moment

I came here today to write the book review for Calamity, but wasn’t sure I could get it done in an hour, so I’ve slated it for tomorrow when I have more time.

So, instead, I’m here to just clear my head and talk about whatever. Feels like it’s been forever since I’ve done that.

Finals are over. I have almost two weeks off from school, in which I will play Uncharted 3 and Pokémon with reckless abandon. I’ve been reading Red Rising by Pierce Brown, and though it’s not bad, it’s… really slow.

Like, I’ll find other things to do than read this book, which isn’t normal for me. I like it… Ok, I can’t even say that. I’m completely ambivalent about it. I don’t hate it. But, I don’t really care about it either. Not a good place to be when I only have a week to finish it.

Submissions for The Audient Void are still coming in. I know Obadiah, the creator and Commandant of the magazine, sees a lot more submissions than I do. He gets them all, sends me the most promising ones, either because they need some line editing or to get my feedback about accepting them.

So far, I’m thoroughly impressed with the content I’ve seen. And we’re still accepting submissions! Check out the Facebook page here: The Audient Void for submission guidelines.

Hmm… What else is happening in my life?

Oh, I had a terrible term and am anxiously waiting to see what my grades will do to my GPA. Pretty sure my chances at Suma Cum Laude are gone. But, I should be able to just make Magna. I tell myself this is acceptable, and yet I’m still pissed.

But, next term, starting March 14th, I take two English classes! One of them is Intro to Writing Science Fiction, and I am so excited! I haven’t taken a writing class in forever, and I miss it terribly.

One of my favorite bands releases their new album in April, and is stopping in Portland in May, so I’m stoked for that.

What else?

Still waiting to hear more from Beta readers, but what has come in so far has been promising. I knew when I sent The Steel Armada out that it needs some major tweaking. It’s thin. That’s the only way I know how to describe it. It’s the malnourished body of a story that, given some additions, could be fully fleshed and detailed.

And that’s what the feedback so far has told me, but my Betas are fantastic because they’re telling me what they want more of, and where. It’s magical!

This weekend I want to get the second draft printed out and put in the binder. That way, when all the Betas have chimed in I can get to work fixing everything.

… I think that’s everything. Come back tomorrow to read all about my experience with Calamity!

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

