In Which the Thing is Sent

Humans and Blogbots, gather ’round, for I have a tale to tell.

Tonight, I took a daring plunge into writerdom by sending my first ever query letter!

The joyous jitters coupled with a simultaneous wave of nervous nausea at clicking the “send” button was a very intriguing sensation. I’m freezing, mainly because the apartment is really cold right now, partly because I’ve been up for the better part of 17 hours, and because of the uncontrolled nervousness rolling through me.

But, I’m exhilarated. I just did this crazy thing, something I kept thinking of as far away. Something for someday. And then, through some research and encouragement from my friends and family, I figured, why shouldn’t someday start today?

Well, I figured that a month ago, when I set out to write the query letter, but I had to perfect the letter and really hammer out those edits before I’d feel all right with querying anybody.

But, someday is here and it’s now!

And in the spirit of seizing the day, I’ve sent the manuscript out to my wonderful Beta readers! I’m not sure they realize what they’re in for, but I appreciate their willingness nonetheless.

Anyway, I just wanted to swoop in and write to you all  while the adrenaline was pumping. I look forward to sharing all the nerves, joys, and absolute despair of querying and editing with you  in the weeks to come.

Talk to you soon,

 

BZ

2 thoughts on “In Which the Thing is Sent

Leave a Reply

