And School is Back…

And I’m already over it.

My classes sound interesting, and so far they’re all right, but mostly I just want this to be over so I can spend my free time doing the things I want. Writing, reading, and editing. Although, my Heresy and Witchcraft in Europe class actually solved a pretty major problem within Jordinn’s Story, so that was awesome.

As the complete writing nerd that I am, I don’t think any subject matter is a waste of time. In Fantasy fiction, authors must create worlds, races, and cultures from scratch. And though I personally don’t adhere to any religion, no society exists without it. So, my lack of religious knowledge has actually made writing harder for me, since writing believable religions has proven difficult. That’s why I took this class. It looks at how religions, specifically Christianity, dealt with Heresy and Witchcraft. How the major religion of the world reacted to and treated dissenters and magic users.

Yeah, I’m going to learn a lot.

I’ve already hinted at religions and ritualism in Jordinn’s Story, but this class is going to help me flesh it out. I’ll have to do some research on Voodooism, so I can amp up the religion in Cards too.

My other class is Food and Culture. I haven’t dug into this one as much, since coursework isn’t due until Tuesday, versus Witchcraft’s looming Sunday deadline, but it should also offer a unique perspective into human society and cultures. Learning about people and how they interact with their worlds is never a waste of time for a fantasy writer.

But, I haven’t much time, since I have to read 16ish pages of my assigned reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma”. It’s not terrible, but it’s not fiction either.

Before I sign off, I want to say something about Alan Rickman. I know the world is mourning, and I know all your feeds and social media are flooded with the tears and lamenting of the multitude of fans. I know this, and still, I am heartbroken.

Rickman was always a delight. He could sway my opinion of a film, and my preconceptions. I’d have little to no interest, which is often the case with me and films, but as soon as I saw his name I’d perk up. I’d be intrigued. Because I knew I could depend on him to make anything better.

Before I knew him as Snape, he was Marvin, the Paranoid Android, and Metatron, the Voice of God. (Yes, I came late to the Harry Potter film train, and I still haven’t seen them all. And no, yelling at me won’t help.) I knew him as the reserved yet astoundingly devoted Colonel Brandon. He was Harry, the man tempted by the younger woman, in Love, Actually. He was Hans Gruber, the man who said “Motherfucker” in such a funny way that it’s something my husband and I quote and laugh at often.

And, while reading Harry Potter, I’d seen stills and the first two movies, and he forever became my image of Severus Snape, my favorite Potter character from day one of the books. Rickman perfectly captured the complexity and depth of Snape, the loathing and the unbidden love that he never could reconcile for Harry. Alan Rickman brought to life a level of loyalty and utter devotion that, until I read Snape’s tale through to the end, I could never fully comprehend.wands

So tonight, I raise my wand, which I believe was a Dragon Heart-string, 9 inch Ashwood, in remembrance of Alan Rickman, for showing the world, and myself, that no one is ever as simple as they seem, and that when you truly love someone, time is irrelevant. You love them. Always.

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

