Up in Arms for Banned Books Week

Hello Humans and Spam-bots!

It’s been a beautiful first week-ish of fall. Highs in the low 70s, and a delicious crispness to the evenings and mornings. A seasonal chill that, unfortunately, wheedles its way into our apartment.

I’m sitting in my second favorite Starbucks in town crunching through a chonga bagel and making quick work of my ritual iced coffee.

I’ve been thinking a lot. About all kinds of things. For the first time in a long time my mind is rife with possibilities. I think it’s the realization that, while I do want to be a writer when I grow up, that usually means I need another career simultaneously.

I don’t know what that’s going to be. Until recently, I never really thought about it. A day job. Staying on at the Library seems the logical choice, but it’s also the easiest.

What about teaching? What about politics? What about moving to Japan to teach English?

That last one is my favorite. I always told Trevor I wanted to live in a big city for a year. Why not a big, foreign city? A real adventure!

The world is big. It’s full of billions of people, all with their own unique stories. I don’t want to tell those stories, but I want the experiences they can afford me, so I can spin them into new, original stories.

Experiencing the world is the only way to learn how to build a convincing one.

Also, I’ve decided that I want to science better.

Seriously though, I loved Geology, and reading all this Colonial Mars fiction has me missing the stories rocks can tell us.

So, I want to travel, I want to spend more time in nature, and I want the knowledge required to appreciate them both.

How do I do that?

Well, finish school. Trevor and I both want to finish our degrees, though I am much closer to my goal at the moment. Then, we want to buy a house here in Salem. We love Salem, and we want to call it home base.

So buy a house, live in it, make it ours and nice, and then rent it out so we can disappear into the wilderness of the world. At least for a year.

I don’t know how long it will take to do this, or how long we’ll adventure before we decide it really is time to settle. But, right now, I am restless.

(Side note, someone in Starbucks uttered that most-hated sentence, “Been thinkin’ about writing a book”. Because it’s that easy…)

I’ve just been feeling very passionate about a lot of things lately. It’s almost like a spiritual reawakening. I’m not sure why it’s happening now, or what to do with all of the energy, but I like it.

I want to change things. I want to share my passion and ignite it in others. I want to show the world that indifference is a cancer. And the only way I know to do that is to talk about it, write about it. Share.

So, what am I riled up about today?

Banned Books Week!

I even have a cute button that reads, “I read banned books” inside the outline of the state of Oregon.

See?

See?

The book I’m reading currently, Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson, was never challenged as far as I know, but our next book club read, The Perks of Being a Wallflower sure has been! I just put it on hold today, so hopefully I’ll get it before the end of the week.

Also, I’m still waiting for one of the four (FOUR?) copies of The Aeronaut’s Windlass to find its way to the hold shelf, with my name poking out of it. I fear it’s going to be a long wait.
The Aeronaut's Windlass

But, next Saturday I’m going to see Brandon Sanderson and will spend HOURS nose deep in Shadows of Self. I absolutely. Can. Not. Wait.
Shadows-of-Self_Mistborn_Sanderson

Anyway, I’m running out of time to read, and I am already about 100 pages behind where I need to be. Dragon Age, and my lack of discipline, keeps getting in the way.

As usual, thanks for listening to me ramble. Much Love, Blogland.

BZ

Leave a Reply

