Close Only Counts in Handgrenades and… Book Lists?

Hello there!

I’m just swinging by to say hi, and share a little bit of my brain with you.

I’ve been thinking a lot about reading lately. Kind of obsessed with it really. I’m so close to making my reading goal for the year, that I’m more or less completely wrapped up in whether I’ll actually make it or not.

I’ve read 32 books so far this year. My goal is 45. I have a pretty good plan built up, but even then it’s cutting it close. I at least have school to augment my list:

  1. Finish The Martian Chronicles, should be done tonight or tomorrow morning.
  2. Martian Time-Slip by Philip K. Dick
  3. Moving Mars by Greg Bear
  4. Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

From here, things get tricky. There’s three book club titles left:

  1. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  3. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

But, after that, things are pretty up in the air. But, there are two new releases this fall that I’m super stoked about:

  1. The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher, releases Sept. 29th
  2. Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson, releases Oct. 6th

So, I have Jim Butcher’s forthcoming novel, the first in his new series, The Cinder Spires, on hold at the library. There are already 13 holds placed, and I’m number 12. So, it might take a while to get hold of that one. But, I’m going to see Sanderson on October 10th, which gives me four-ish days to reread The Alloy of Law, so that I’m all set for its sequel.

So, with all of those titles, and the reread of the first Wayne and Wax book, I’m at 42 books. Well, I’m over 200 pages into A Game of Thrones, so let’s just assume I finish it before the end of the year.

That’s 43. I still need two more books. And I have no idea what they’re going to be. It’s stressing me out, which is ridiculous. I have a million other things to stress about, but the mysterious two books keeping me from my goal are keeping me up at night.

Dumb.

Anyway, I only have about 50 pages left in The Martian Chronicles, and the sooner I finish it, the more time I have to reach my goal!

Have a good night blogland, and if you have any recommendations for my remaining two slots, share them in the comments!

BZ

Leave a Reply

