Two More Weeks to Freedom!

So.

the-lies-of-locke-lamora-US
I finished The Lies of Locke Lamora last night. And though I’m dying to write the book review, I simply don’t have time today. But, it should be out tomorrow. Be prepared for a long one. I really enjoyed the book and have lots of things I want to talk about, both from a purely “reader” perspective, and from a “writer” perspective. I learned a lot from this book.

And now I’m chomping at the bit to buy the second one. That’s part of why I have no time. I have to shower, then go to the bookstore, and then sit and read at Starbucks for a solid hour.

Priorities, all right?

If you pop over to the 2015- What I’m Reading page, you’ll see it’s been updated. My next read is K.J. Parker’s Purple and Black. It’s a novella, only 113 pages long, and it’s Epistolary.
PurpleandBlack

For those of us who aren’t walking, talking Literary Dictionaries, that means it’s told in a series of letters, or correspondences of some kind. I’ve read a few books like this, mostly when I was a kid. Snail Mail No More by Ann M. Martin and Paula Danziger comes to mind. And, of course, Frankenstein, since I’ve reading/discussing it for FOUR MONTHS now.
SnailMailNoMore

Anyway, I’ve never seen or read a Fantasy Epistolary story. I’m curious to see how the world-building works when the story is told in letters. Plus, it’s going to be a really quick read. My goal is to finish it either today or tomorrow, so I can jump right back into Red Seas Under Red Skies.
Red Seas Under Red SkiesStardust

And, of course, after that I start in on Stardust by Neil Gaiman.

So, I finished all my homework today, so I could commit some serious time to blogging and writing my Caladria story. School’s hit panic mode with only two weeks left before summer. I just have to keep up the good work until May 1st, and then I can have all kinds of free time!

Plus, the Library scheduling has finally hit a nice mix with my Starbucks hours, so I feel less like a zombie, and more like the really driven woman that I am.

So, May should be a really productive start to my summer! Can’t wait to relax by reading and writing more!

Anyway, see you tomorrow blogland!

BZ

Leave a Reply

