The Mario Kart Smackdown… I Hope.

I’ve hit a wall. You know the one. It’s late in the term, and I couldn’t care less about my classes right now. All I want to do is read and write, and prepare for my first week at Library. Instead I’m supposed to be prepping for my last French speaking appointment before the oral final next week. I have a test Monday, and then the final the following Monday.

I also have to read a short story and write a post by tomorrow afternoon for my Science Fiction class, write another 6 page paper about readings from the semester that could be classified as Science Fiction vs. readings that are more Fantasy.

Personally, I didn’t think any of them were truly Fantasy, but I’m biased. Fantasy short fiction is rough to write, because the world-building is so confined. A couple of the stories we read did a decent job, but I’m used to thousand page epics.

readyplayerone
I’m still reading for pleasure, though slowly. Ready Player One took a long time to build. There was a lot of background info that seemed inconsequential that I actually needed to know, so the beginning was pretty boring. Now I’m on page 327 and the fact that I’m not at liberty to read it right now is really irritating me.

But, it’s the perfect book to read for today. I have challenged two friends of mine to a good, old-fashioned Mario Kart Arcade ass whuppin’. Mostly I just wanted to get us all together to play, but putting a beer on the line, and brandishing smack talk for a week has been a ton fun. Tonight we’ll find out how much crow I have to eat.
MarioKartArcade

In Caladria I just have to write the synopsis for A Stranger Comes Knocking and it will be officially complete. I promised to have that done before I go to work tomorrow evening. I’ve also been assigned my first story to edit, but the content isn’t due until the 15th, so there’s nothing for me to look at yet.

I’m nervous, and excited. I like editing, a lot. Just, not my own stuff so much. Other people’s stuff? Love it!

Anyway, I have to gear up for my homework session. I’ll talk to you soon Blogland.

BZ

Leave a Reply

