Writing Excuses, Week Three

Here’s a late, random post. I promised I would post about Writing Excuses, and I don’t break my promises. At least, not often.

So, week three of Writing Excuses was the “Wild Card” week. That’s the one week where they have a guest speaker and the show reverts to its former format. Instead of writing exercises there’s a writing prompt at the end of the episode.

This week’s Wild Card Guest was Cherie Priest, expert and writer of Lovecraftian Horror. A good portion of the episode was spent pinning down that element of Lovecraft that is so riveting and terrifying.

Ultimately it was decided that a sense of futility, coupled with the gradual deterioration of the character’s sanity makes for an undeniable intrigue. It’s fiction written to frighten atheists, using an antagonist that is undoubtedly greater than mankind.

Again, I don’t want to rehash the whole episode here, so if you’re interested in learning more about the fascinating landscape of Lovecraftian Horror, click here.

At the end of the episode was the following prompt:

Take a character and from their point of view describe their reaction to something horrific and awful, but don’t describe the thing itself.

I’m sad to say that I didn’t participate. I plan to at some point, and this would be a great exercise for my horror piece, The Portrait, but right now isn’t the time. I’ve got too much school work and fantasy fiction thriving to try and section off another quadrant of my brain. There comes a point where even ADD can’t help me keep everything straight.

Anyway, I’m sorry for the short post. I’m keeping on top of my homework, which feels like an accomplishment in an of itself. I’m still reading, and if you haven’t visited the What I’m Reading page, it’s been updated. I’ll probably finish The Slow Regard of Silent Things within the next couple of days, which is threatening to stack up my book reviews!

And I want a second job?

I’m insane.

Have a good night blogland! Hopefully, I’ll see you soon.

BZ

2 thoughts on “Writing Excuses, Week Three

  1. I skipped this exercise too, as i was falling behind. I found their analysis of Lovecraft interesting though, especially the idea that the books popularity is partly about avoiding protagonist stupidity.

    • Yeah, the podcast itself was really interesting, and it made me want to read more Lovecraft than I have. Because it’s intelligent horror. Not slasher, not torture, but something a bit more terrifying, because the character is losing his mind scene by scene.

Leave a Reply

