Enchiladas and Science Fiction

This is going to be a busy post!

So, today is my day off. I’ve cleaned pretty much every surface in the house, and started the enchiladas cooking. The beef simmering in the crock pot doesn’t look like much right now, but the smell is just mouth-watering, stomach-growling good. I can’t wait for the finished product!

Now, Trevor is normally the cook. In fact, he’s a damn fine cook, and it’s the reason we’re hoping to open our own food truck in the next couple years. But, when it comes to Mexican food, I’ve got the chops.

…Even if I struggle to chop an onion.

Point is, I was raised on Mexican food. Growing up in Arizona means I was consistently exposed to all kinds of deliciousness. And I loved every bite. So, 25 years of noming on all kinds Latin cuisine has given me quite the distinguished palate.

So even when Trev’s in charge, I usually get a say in the seasoning.  I’ve never made enchiladas before, so I’m really excited to see how they turn out!

So that’s happening in the background right now, distracting me with unsolicited good smells. I had my first French Speaking Appointment today with my new Instructor, and it went great! She’s funny, warm, and vivacious. She answers questions and generally seems much more conversational than disciplined. It makes for a much more “hands on” learning experience, as opposed to the regimented style I was used to. I’m really looking forward to this term.

I’m all caught up on Homework for now. I should do a bit more French, that way I don’t have to do anything over the weekend, but I’ve got plenty of time today and tomorrow to make that happen.

I’ve started reading Frankenstein for my Sci-Fi class. This is the third time I’ve read it, so I’m enjoying the familiarity and letting myself look at it with a much more critical eye. I have to finish it by next Thursday, which shouldn’t be a problem since it’s only 206 pages long.

If you aren’t following Caladria on Twitter, now is the time! The website goes live for fans on the 25th, which is also the release date for the first issue of Fab Fables! In the last couple of days the website has seen a complete and utter overhaul. I logged in last night and thought I’d typed the address wrong, that’s how different the home screen was! And it’s beautiful! I really can’t wait for you all to see it, and to find out just what we’ll be working on next! As soon as I know more, it’ll be here!

Follow Caladria on Twitter: @Caladria1

I’m still reading The Star Scroll, and might even catch some personal reading time tonight. If not, I’ll have time tomorrow.

Tonight Book Club meets to discuss Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. Only four of the six members actually read it. The other two struggled and gave up. Can’t say that I blame them. I’m looking forward to hearing the Clubbers thoughts, and picking our next book.

Oh, and eating enchiladas!

I’m going to push for Stardust by Neil Gaiman as our next read. It’s the exact opposite of Fried Green Tomatoes…, which is what The Clubbers need, me thinks. If they don’t want to read that next, then I’ll push for Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Another lighter, and faster paced story.

If you haven’t checked out the Master Class being recorded by the wonderful Writing Excuses Podcast, you really should. The four hosts bicker and banter, making their twenty minute conversations delights in their own right. Add the valuable insight and commentary on writing Science Fiction and Fantasy, and I can’t stop listening.

Anyway, just wanted to update you all on the crazy business I’m experiencing over here! I’ll see you all soon!

BZ

Leave a Reply

