Goals and Losing Battles

A couple of things.

One. I’m fighting a migraine. That familiar twinge-y thump above and directly behind my left eye. It makes me want to squint just my left eye, which is, of course, the dominant one.

Two. I am simultaneously fighting a cold. And of course, the left side of my nose and face are the victims of ruthless sinus pressure. I am in a special kind of hell. The kind that’s just bad enough to be irritating, and make my brain stupid all day.

Three. I am losing both of these battles. I’m desperate for a home cooked meal, some Puffs Plus with Vicks, and a Community marathon.

But, my work on Hunting Storm is done. And I have a bit of free time before A Stranger Comes Knocking demands my attention. I’m finally making progress on Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café, and it’s growing on me. Although I cheated last night and read the first chapter of Lucas just for the hell of it. Opening that book requires no commitment or time. I can pick it up anywhere, at any page, and know what’s up. I’ve read it that many times. The binding is failing. It makes me a bit sad, but then I know I’ll just tape it up, and it will be that much cooler for it.

My real reason for posting today is that I just discovered the new stats page. I didn’t realize I could look at my blog’s views by year until about five minutes ago. It blew my mind. While the number of views on this blog are by no means “stellar”, the growth from 2011 to 2014 is intense. I more than doubled views from 2013-2014. I posted more too. It’s just really cool, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2015.

Since my personal life is quieting down, I’m hoping to set some heavy goals for 2015. But, before I get into that, that’s recap 2014.

Now, this is a new thing. I’ve never looked at a year as a whole before when it comes to writing. I’m not sure why, but I think it has something to do with my insatiable need for freedom and spontaneity. Things I rarely take advantage of, but must have the option for.

Your basic fear of commitment shit.

Anyway, when 2014 started I wanted to finish the edits for Vessels and write Cards. I also had plans to get a short fiction piece ready for publication and submission in the fall. Also, I wanted to get married and go on a honeymoon. These were all plans of mine circa January 2014.

This year I:

  • Completed the rough draft of Cards
  • Enrolled at ASU and completed one term with a 3.48 GPA
  • Wrote and submitted one short story, due for publication in January (Hunting Storm)
  • Joined a cool writing collaboration (Caladria)
  • Started a book club, completed one book
  • Started a new novel rough draft (Jordinn’s Story)
  • Got married
  • Had an awesome Honeymoon
  • Read 15 novels and 37 short stories

Next year I’m going to:

  • Finish drafting Vessels, that’s completing all edits
  • Start edits on Cards
  • Finish rough draft of Jordinn’s Story
  • Maintain my 3.5-ish GPA
  • Continue/expand the book club
  • Continue writing for Caladria, try and get a franchise
  • Read 25 novels, 10 short stories
  • Post here a minimum of twice a week, that’s 104 posts by 12/31/15

So, what do you guys think? Too ambitious? Or not enough? Let me know, especially if you have any tips or advice on how to accomplish these goals!

The hubby will be home soon, which means I’ve got to get the kitchen ready for cooking. I can’t wait for dinner, as usual. Have a good one blogland, I’ll see you tomorrow!

BZ

2 thoughts on “Goals and Losing Battles

  1. A few things to be aware of when you look at views: Views from the Reader don’t count. Unless someone actually clicks into the blog it won’t show up as a view. I’ve tested it using accounts i created using other e-mail addresses. I haven’t tested yet, but I think when you read something on a mobile device using the WP app it stays in the Reader and doesn’t show up as a view.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. I know some pages say that you have to return to the original, leaving reader behind. I try to do that as often as possible. I think you’re right that Reader views don’t count. I get likes but no views all the time. I usually just credit it to wordpress ghosts.

Leave a Reply

