Midterms, Cheat Reads, and Playlists

So, last night was dumb.

The writing portion of yesterday was great! I wrote 1,097 words for the Caladria short story, and I’m really impressed with it so far. Hopefully it’s what they’re looking for.

But, by the time I wrapped up and put my apron on, I definitely had a low-grade fever. I was freezing all night, no matter how many layers I put on. Add to it my stomach’s staunch aversion to any sustenance, and my night took a down turn.

But, I was rescued by an awesome co-worker who came in to finish my shift. I went home and passed out. This morning I’m feeling much improved, though I have a migraine threatening behind my left eye. But, I can deal with that much better than nausea.

So, today’s plan. I have to take my Short Story class mid-term today, which I’m going to do as soon as I post this. Then I’m going to put more work into the Caladria short story. I’m really excited to see how it comes out. I don’t know if I’m in love with it because it’s a return to writing, or because it’s actually that good, but I’m completely enamored with it. If I’m focused, and the words flow, I might finish it today. If not, then I’ll finish it Monday.

I still haven’t bought Stupid & Contagious, because none of the local bookstores have it in stock. I called The Book Bin today, and they’re shipping a used copy from Corvallis, which should be in early next week. Which means I have no book until then, which we all know is just unacceptable.

So, I’m starting The Star Scroll today, the second book in the Dragon Prince trilogy. I am super stoked to continue this journey with Rohan and Sioned, even if it’s a little bit of cheating on my part. But, it’ll only take me about a week to read through and prep discussion questions for Stupid & Contagious, so it’ll be fine.

star scroll vs. 293027

At least that’s what I tell myself.

Also, while I was brushing my teeth, I had a breakthrough in my dreaded chapter 5 of Jordinn’s Story. I think I’ve found a way to add a fresh spin to that scene I’ve written so many times, and it’s just enough to breathe some life into my personal writing.

Suddenly I have even less time to spend with friends and family! And, that’s OK. I’ll see them all during the holidays.

So, I think I’ve talked about this before, but music is incredibly important to my writing. I’ve seen quite a few blog posts and heated discussions about what kind of music is best for writing, and it’s such a circular thing. Everyone is different. Everyone’s writing habits are different. What works for one won’t work for another.

But, I create playlists based on the tone and content of the story I’m writing. Jordinn’s Story is the largest playlist I’ve made to date, which makes sense since it’s the largest project I’ve ever worked on. The playlist for the Caladria story, currently titled Hunting Storm, is the shortest playlist I’ve made. Which again is logical, since this story is the shortest I’ve written since I’ve started making playlists. Since it’s so short, I’ll give you guys a look at it.

Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 12.46.11 PM

I’d like to point out that, generally, I’m not a big fan of female lead singers. There’s a select few I enjoy, but even then, I don’t listen to them a lot. But, nearly half of these tracks features a female lead. I wonder if it’s because the only characters in this story are female? Interesting.

What do you guys think? Do you prefer music to write by? If so, how does the music reflect your work?

See you guys Monday!

BZ

Leave a Reply

