Monday Check-In

Though the temperature has dropped, currently at a chilly 57 degrees, the sun has yet to forfeit to the Pacific Northwest winter. Today, though chilly, is crisp, with a gentle breeze rolling fallen leaves across sidewalks. The sun is shining in a bright blue sky, and though my nose and fingers are in a prolonged state of freezing, I’m enjoying the gradual transition from summer freedom to fall romance.

Summer finds me scantily clad, absorbing as much UV as my sun freckled shoulders can stand. The windows are always down, the wind ripping at me with hot fingers. And unlike most, I find it comforting. Natural even. An echo of the desert life I was born into. But, as the sun gives way to clouds and rain, my thoughts turn to the holidays, and all that I’m so grateful for.

We went to a pumpkin patch with friends, we’re doing a themed group costume (pictures promised) for Halloween night, and we’re having a Friendsgiving this year. Our little apartment will be filled with warmth and laughter this holiday season, and I can’t wait.

But, before any of this fun can happen, I have to keep myself on track. Last night was a whirlwind of French exercises and short stories. Then I was up until three in the morning reading Dragon Prince. So, today I have my review, a French Chapter exam, a readings quiz and discussion post to do.

But after all of that I want to explore the world of Caladria. And, if I’m really good at time management, I’d like to work on Chapter 5 a bit today. I had some ideas about this scene that’s kicking my butt, and they came totally unexpectedly. I take that as a good sign. Because, even as my brain is awhirl with all sorts of things, my writer subconscious is stewing on fiction.

I’ve been thinking about what to do after I finish school. I love Starbucks, and have no plans to leave the company in the next three or four years, but I also know that I don’t want to be a Store Manager. And I know that moving further up than that is evening less appealing to me.

So, after some consideration, I’ve reaffirmed what I’ve known for a long time. I want to pursue editing. I’ve always loved editing, though I’ll admit, I prefer tearing apart others’s work to my own. I know that means spending a lot of time as a line editor, correcting small grammar and spelling mistakes, but I enjoy that. I always have.

Anyway, i just wanted to pop in and say that I’m here. I’ll be updating the reading page again today, and hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to post some details about the general awesomeness that is Caladria.

Have a good Monday, Blogland!

BZ

Leave a Reply

