Reading, Writing, and Good Old-Fashioned Book Learning

School is hard. Ok, not necessarily hard, but definitely time consuming. I’ve spent the better part of two hours doing French homework today. I still have about another hour’s worth to finish before work tomorrow. But, I enjoy it. At least so far. I have 15 pages to read for my English class, and then an introductory post, also due before I leave for work tomorrow.

But, I still found time to finish ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’, and you’ll see that my “What I’m Reading” page has been updated. The ending was WAY more of a cliff hanger than I was anticipating. Rothfuss basically threw a nugget of information at us, with no real explanation, and then ended the book. Now I have to wait for the third book to release, which hasn’t even been announced yet.

I finished reading the book about an hour ago, and I’m already antsy to decide on what to read next. So, in a fit of anxiety, I finally put together a list for the No-Name Book Club. I’m starting low, and with shorter titles.

  • Stupid and Contagious by Caprice Crane
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg

We have our preliminary meeting this Wednesday, where we’ll discuss the book list, meeting dates, and decide which book we should start with. I’m pretty excited, and thanks to my English class, there’s no shortage of reading material in my future.

My writing, on the other hand, hasn’t fared too well. Chapter 5 is putting up a fight, and I’m not putting up much effort. But, I figured that school starting up would be a road block, just like any other change in my routine. And as important as my fiction is, I need to be focused on school. So, I’m going to take it easy on myself and get used to this new schedule, and then I’ll start peppering writing time back in.

Which reminds me. I volunteered to be a part of a really cool project called Caladria. It’s a fictional world with a group of writers telling its tales. That’s about all I know for now, but once I have more details, I’ll be chatting it up here.

Anyway, I need to get cracking on this remaining French homework before I crash for the night.

I’ll see you around, Blogland.

BZ

Leave a Reply

