Progress for the Nameless Book Club

Starting a book club is a lot harder than I thought it’d be.

Of the five of us that have agreed to participate, only two have given me a list. And they’re not all that comforting. They couldn’t be farther from my own.

Emily’s List:

  • The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams
  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • Anything written by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Longbourn by Jo Baker
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith
  • The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
  • Paradise of the Blind by Duong Thu Huong
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Now, Emily was the first to get back to me, and her list is large and varied. But, it’s still worlds away from what I’d initially had in mind. It’s a bit more… Literary than I’d imagined. Also, I’ve read a lot of them already. The Silmarillion, The Catcher in the Rye, The Colour Purple. But, it’s a starting point, something to help me pick books she would like, even if they aren’t on her list.

Lily’s List:

  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

That’s it. That’s all she gave me. And she’s read it before! Although a long time ago. When I asked her for any other books, anything else she might want to read, she was blank. She’s open to reading other stuff, but that’s the only book she really wants to add to the list.

Now, I’ve never read it, but pretty much every other female our age has. I don’t want to make people reread things, but I also don’t want to exclude Lily’s only contribution to the Book List. Oy vey…

Bfree‘s list is non-existent so far, but I’m holding out hope. She’s just started a new job, and her sister just had a baby, so she’s a busy lady. But, she still wants to be a part of the book club, and I am waiting to see what she brings to the group. Because these lists so far aren’t very hopeful.

Then there’s Kayla. She’s a self-professed non-reader. But, she’s seen the movie! She’s always wanted to be a part of a book club, and when I mentioned it, her eyes lit up. I asked about what she has read, and suddenly she was naming multiple series, and what she likes and doesn’t like.

She’s a closet reader. She reads a lot of Paranormal Teen Romance, and YA, but she does read! And so she’s in the club, but refuses to craft a list. Now it’s on me to pick books she’ll find interesting enough to power through. So be it.

There’s John, who wants to join, but claims to be an incredibly slow reader. He likes the idea of books, but has a hard time finishing them. I told him that we’ll have to go slow. Bfree has two jobs, I’m going to school, and still writing. And still plan on reading something for my own pleasure. He seemed to warm up to the idea after that, but I don’t think he’ll actually join.

Then there’s My List:

  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • The Prestige by Christopher Priest
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Year Zero by Rob Reid
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

I really like my list, but it is mine, so I’m bound to be biased. But, it’s a list of books that I’ve always wanted to read, but are fairly popular titles. Almost all of them have been, or will be, movies/TV shows. But, not super popular movies that might have been widely ingested by the Book Club.

And, we need a name for our Book Club. Any ideas?

Anyway, I’ve got about five hours to get some serious words into the computer. I’m not feeling terribly focused, but I’m hoping a little read through of the chapter before, and I’ll be settled and ready to finish chapter 5.

I’m going to leave you with this gem, that a friend texted first thing this morning.
10606363_10203933767077519_7379651614267958754_n

What do you think? Is it true?

BZ

4 thoughts on “Progress for the Nameless Book Club

  1. I’ve never been part of a book club before. I think I’ve always been put off by the amount of reading (of books I mightn’t like) it could involved. But looking at those lists… it’s not so bad.
    I tend to gravitate (quite sharply) away from literary texts but reading them with a bunch of other people wouldn’t be quite so bad.

    I wish I could help with names, but I’m notoriously bad at that kind of thing. If anything springs to mind I’ll let you know. šŸ˜‰

  2. lulusrantsandreads says:

    Every time I try to start a book club the outcome is me reading the books on my own (attempt #1) or us reading some of the books we picked and not reading others (current attempt #2). I have read The Giver and really need to get on resding Outlander. Putting together a book club can be a bit stressful but think of all the great new books you get to read?? As for the name…good luck! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

