Fall and the Book Club

I woke freezing under our single sheet. In a matter of days Salem has abandoned the scorch of summer, instead favoring calico trees and crisp air. The morning called for a Pumpkin Spice Chai and long sleeves. I even opted for my faithful boots over the constant companionship of my chucks.

The lobby of my Starbucks was full when I walked in. I found a small table and cracked open my book. I could have edited a chapter of ‘Vessels’, but it’s not even noon yet. There’s plenty of time for that. Plus, Kvothe’s story has reached that pitch again. Like in the first book, he takes time to ramp up and tell his story. Now, over 500 pages in, I am completely enchanted.

Yesterday was productive. I wrote 2,087 words in about 2 1/2 hours. I finished chapter 3 and got a good start on chapter 4. I plan on continuing the momentum.

A couple days ago, a few of us at work were joking about starting a book club. Except now I find myself really wanting to pursue it. It would be fun. Plus, I’ve always wanted to be in a book club. But, all the book clubs you ever hear about are middle-aged ladies reading literary fiction and sounding pretentious.

So, if school doesn’t keep me too preoccupied, I’d like to start a Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club! We’d meet once a month and compare notes. We’d have to start small, I’m already spiraling deep into the Epic Fantasy world, but most people see 1,000+ page books and have a coronary. 

Anyway, it’s something to think about, and hopefully actually do! Maybe I’ll start making a list of potential reads. Hmm…

Anyway, there’s work to be done! See you around, Blogland!

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

