The Homestretch

Sometimes I think I should be a little more structured with my blog. When readers come here, they never really know what they’re going to get.

One day I may have some insight into writing itself, but most days I just blather on about my personal life until I can feel the writing juices are flowing.

This blog is my equivalent of Vonnegut’s scribblings. Except he had the decency to throw them away. Here I am posting them for all the world to see.

But, I’m not too motivated to change the way I blog, because it works. I’m not here to have thousands of followers, or to try and make a living. I don’t even understand how that works. How do you make money from putting your personal musings on the internet?

Weird.

This blog is here as an outlet. A place where I can sit down every morning and talk about whatever strikes me, in order to wake up my brain and prepare for the hours of fiction writing ahead of me.

And let me tell you, it works.

Yesterday I wrote 3,727 words. In one sitting. I finished chapter 18, considered ending the day there, and then wrote another 800+ words for chapter 19.

And I am so excited about that! You see, my book is only 20 chapters, plus an epilogue. Today I will finish chapter 19. Do you see?

I am almost done with my second novel! And this one is actually a novel length! Well, it’s still small, but publisher’s would actually look at this one!

It’s going to cap out at about 60,000 words.

So, a week or so ago, I knew I was getting close to the end of my journey with ‘Cards’, because I started thinking about the next project. I want to work on a large fantasy piece, that’s set to be a trilogy. There are a ton of characters, all with their own point’s of view and plot lines, and I’m really excited to start it.

But, I know from previous experience that once I’m done with ‘Cards’, I’m going to need a break. Last time, I went into a sort of writing hibernation. I disappeared for the better part of six months, and I don’t want to do it again.

It’s just such a waste of time.

So, in my ‘non-writing’ time, I’m going to finish the first round of edits of ‘Vessels’. I remember liking how they were going, I just got distracted. And, if I’m not writing, I should be editing 3 chapters or so a week.

I want to get it done before the wedding. We’ve got just over a month until we say “I Do”, and I want to have this novel, and the edits for ‘Vessels’ done, so I can honeymoon guilt free.

And I still have wedding stuff I have to think about! Gah! So much work to be done!

But, I’m feeling good about it all. I finally think things are under control.

I’m off to work on this novel. I’ll talk at you later Blogland!

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

