Technology, or My Lack Thereof

So, I was considering getting a new computer.

Trevor’s building his own gaming desktop, and it got me thinking about how old my laptop is, and how much work it needs.

I’m currently doing all my writing from a 2008 Black MacBook. It was a gift from my mom when I graduated high school. I’ve really never had a problem with it. I mean, there was that one time when the Operating System stopped recognizing external devices, and I had to install an entirely new OS, but since then it’s been a trooper.

But, it’s six years old, and it shows. The battery is toast. It does not charge, and so the computer only works when it’s plugged in. That kind of ruins the mobile aspect of working from a laptop. I’m limited by outlet space, all the time.

But, ok, say there is an outlet available. Well, my charger is broken too! It’s an apple charger, so it’s stupid shaped, and one day Trevor tripped over the cord and pulled it from the wall. Except the prongs stayed in the wall, while the rest of the charger didn’t.

So now, when I am plugged-in in public, I have to worry about sharing an outlet. The charger will drop from the wall with the slightest provocation. And if it falls from the wall the computer dies.

Luckily Scrivener autosaves pretty frequently, and I’ve yet to lose any work this way. But it’s still shocking, and abrupt to be completely absorbed in a project only to have the screen go black.

So, I spent this morning perusing laptops online.

Yeah…

I’ve discovered that I’m cheap. And quite honestly, I’m a little hesitant to go back to Windows. Though I no longer have an iPhone, and I do love my Android, I’m not sure I’d want to work on a non-Mac.

I’ve been trying to talk myself out of apple for a while now. I keep telling myself that the computers and the software are restrictive. There’s so much you can’t do on a Mac.

But, what is it I really want to do?

I want a simple, straightforward computer that allows me to compile all my music, photos, and writing. And I need to access the internet. Duh.

I don’t need anything mind blowing. In fact, I’d prefer if it wasn’t mind blowing. I don’t have time to learn all the bells and whistles, and I don’t want to get distracted by features I really don’t need.

But, I don’t want to spend $400 on something like that.

And so, after a small search I realized what I’ve always known. I should just spend the $150 to get a new battery and charger for my Mac.

Why mess with a good thing?

With that put to rest I can get back to work. Yesterday I wrote about 400 words between laundry runs, finishing chapter 17 and getting a few words into chapter 18.

I don’t think I’ll finish 18 before heading to work, but I’ve got a good solid three hours ahead of me. If I can keep focused, we’ll see how it comes along.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

