Writing From Home!

Blogland!

Today is the start of something new!

We’re moved into our new place, and though a lot of stuff still needs unpacked, we are, for the most part, done. The couch actually fit, which was a source of anxiety for several days. It fit well enough to allow for a coffee table in front of it, and a new desk behind it.

Yes, a new desk. A small writing desk with clean lines. No drawers, but one pull out keyboard tray. Trevor spent the better part of three hours putting it together, but it’s beautiful.

And the best part?

When I want to use it, I put the desk top’s wireless keyboard and mouse in the tray to hide them away. I have a functional space for my laptop, which means I have a real place where I can write from home!

And that’s why today is so exciting! Starting right now, I no longer have to go to Starbucks to write! I can sit in the solitude of my home while Trev’s at work, and just plug away.

Now, I don’t really think I’ll get much done today, but I will finish chapter 17, since I was interrupted by a friend the last time I sat down to write.

Speaking of last time, it’s been awhile, hasn’t it? Well, I knew it would be. But I didn’t know I’d spend four days battling a fever and a cough. So not only were we moving and unpacking, but then I got sick, and so the unpacking has been slow going.

But, I’m feeling a lot better. I’m doing laundry as we speak, and was already busy in the earlier part of the day getting things to snack on while I sat here writing at my new writing desk!

Have I mentioned how comfortable the chair is? It’s cushioned well enough to allow for long hours, but straight-backed to promote focus. It’s perfect. Just perfect. I can’t wait to finish this novel at home!

20140602_123003

Anyway, just wanted to let you all know that, starting today, I will be back in action. Now, I have laundry to move over and a chapter to finish!

Leave a Reply

