Adapting and Taking the Plunge

It’s noon and I’m just getting started. Two weeks ago that would have been normal. A refreshing and languishing start to my day. Let the juices sort of work up to a simmer, until come three I’d be writing at a full boil.

But, that’s not my method anymore.

Today I opened. So, alarm goes off at 3:20a, I dress and brush my teeth a la zombie, and I go to work. I was supposed to be off at 9a today, but due to scheduling shenanigans I ended up staying until 11. Then I emailed a potential caterer and took a survey for the guy who runs Write About Dragons.

And here I am.

It’s harder this way. There’s no ramp up, and after an 8 hour day that started before the sun rose, it’s even harder to convince myself to sit at work for an additional 3-5 hours and pump out chapters.

But, I’m here. And I’m sure as hell going to try.

I wrote just over 1,000 words yesterday which was surprising. It came easier than expected and I liked it. So, I’m hoping today will be more of the same and I can finish the chapter.

If I do I have a reward in mind.

Since all my books are packed away in cardboard, I’m going to visit the library today. I want to take a moment here to talk about how awesome the Salem Library is. It’s huge! And full of every kind of book you could imagine. It puts the Chandler Library to shame. Anyway, I decided that I’m going to start reading Stephen King’s ‘The Dark Tower.’ It’s something I’ve been wanting to read for ages, but have talked myself out of because it’s such an undertaking.

I did the same thing with The Way of Kings. We all saw how much I regretted that.

So, that’s the plan. Write. Read. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I think blog posts might be a bit on the sparse side for a while, at least until I get used to this new schedule. It’s just so hard to get my brain functioning, even with the caffeine.

Anyway, I’ll be back tomorrow blogland. Maybe you could suggest something you want to read about? Since my brain seems short on subject matter. Let me know in the comments.

Catch ya later,

BZ

Leave a Reply

