Treading Water, But It’s a Good Thing

Yesterday ended up being a great success. I wrote 2,303 words, finishing chapter 10 in one sitting.

I’ve hit a sort of ‘grey zone’ in the book. See… I knew the beginning, and I know the ending… but the middle is a bit hazy. I’m not really sure what’s going to happen to get the characters where they need to be at the end. I have an idea, but a lot of things have changed over the last few chapters, characters gone bad, new characters demanding to come out and play.

So, I’m ready to write chapter 11, and I have only a vague idea of where it’s going. Which is fine. I know these characters. I know how they’ll react in any given situation. I can handle whatever plot twist this book decides to throw at me.

Because that’s how it feels. I created the characters. I know their origins, and I created the basic scenario of the novel to get them all to come together and get shit done. And I created the ending. I know it, and I’m excited to write it, but I have to get there first.

I learned that lesson the hard way.

Some writers suggest that, when you’re ‘stuck’, move on to a scene that’s exciting to you. A scene you want to write.

So, the first novel I ever tried to write, I followed that advice. And it was all fun. Until I wrote the ending before I’d actually gotten there. And then, to my mind and heart, the story was over.

To this day I have no interest in working on that novel. It’s over. And that’s ok, because it was a shit book anyway. Though I love those characters, and the piece will always have a special place in my heart as the first novel I ever tried to write.

Anyway, I’m sort of treading water in the grey zone right now. But, I’m not too concerned. I’ve got enough editing to do that I can let ‘Cards’ marinate for a couple days before I tackle chapter 11.

On the docket today is editing Chapters 3 and 4 of ‘Vessels’. If I still have time once that’s done, since I start work kind of late today, I’m going to write a 100 Word story about aging, for Illeandra Young’s Birthday competition.

I think it’ll be fun, and a challenge, because 100 words go by quick. I don’t think I’ll win, and I won’t be heartbroken if that’s the case, but if I do $10 to Amazon would be cool.

Plus, it’ll be the first time I ever submit writing for some sort of prize. Other than publication… is that considered a prize? I kind of think so.

Anyway, I’ve got a busy day ahead of me, and a lot of time to stop wasting!

 

BZ

2 thoughts on “Treading Water, But It’s a Good Thing

Leave a Reply

