Back to Work

Some days my brain just can’t keep up.  Maybe it’s too early, even though it’s a quarter to noon, or maybe there just isn’t enough caffeine in my system yet. But my brain definitely doesn’t want to be sitting at Starbucks, staring at the computer screen.

Too bad.

I don’t work until 5pm, which is later than usual. Definitely thought I started at 3:30 or 4. But, the optimist in me reminds that I just have that much more time to get good work done.

Ok. Good point.

And yes, I plan on getting some solid writing in today. But, I’m definitely going to need a double tall something or other, and some form of breakfast first.

The snow is pretty much all gone. There are some last remnants clinging to hillsides and ditches. You know, places where the snow has been undisturbed. But, the rain and human interference has pretty much cleared all roadways, parking lots, and sidewalks. Now we’re back to rain. And lots of it.

But the temperature is sitting at about 52 degrees already today, so that’s exciting. Maybe spring is finally on its way!

Yeah, right.

But, I’m planning on getting my hair trimmed at the end of this month, and I think that’s when I’ll start tanning! So excited for sunshine! Even if it’s artificial.

My piercing is mostly healed on the outside, meaning that it’s not so tender to the touch. I can sleep on my left side with almost no problem, which is a relief. Also, that’s how your cartilage heals, from the outside in. Isn’t that wild?

So, bringing my thoughts back to the work at hand. What’s on the docket for today?

I’ll re-read what I wrote last time. That would be chapter 2. I’ll read it solely to get a feel for where the story is going next and the tone and yadda yadda. I will not edit it at all. That’s a big no-no. I’ll probably read it as I munch on breakfast and inhale my beverage, and then finish up the meal before launching into chapter 3.

It’s weird to think I’m on chapter 3 of my second novel. Also, I’m pretty sure that I’m going to start editing ‘Vessels’ sometime in March. I’ll come up with a sort of schedule to work with, like a chapter a week, so that I can take my time with it and continue to work on ‘Cards’.

It’s still weird to think about.

Anyway, I’m just dilly-dallying at this point. Time to get to the food and drink so I can get to the writing.

I’ll post an update on my Facebook page about the progress made today, if you’re interested.

Thanks, Blogland!

 

BZ

2 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Getting back to it can be hard, but I believe in you! Get that caffeine level up and start swinging. And if you’ve put in a lot of work it is amazing how far along you are sometimes. 3rd chapter of the 2nd novel is something to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

