Snow Day and Good News!

So, months ago, while I was still finishing up my first novel, my last short story was published. “Fallen Star” found a home with Torrid Literature, and I couldn’t have been happier! The story was placed first out of the three fiction pieces in the issue, and instead of only being available online, this Journal actually has printed copies! I was convinced this meant I was moving up in the world.

Then, I posted, sometime in the fall, that due to being published in their Journal, I was nominated for their Hall of Fame. I posted here, and on my Facebook pages, asking for votes. But, admittedly, I didn’t keep up with it. So, I want to take a moment to thank those of you who navigated the tricky voting system to click next to my name. I really, truly, appreciate it.

Last week I received an email from Torrid stating that all voting for the Hall of Fame had concluded, and that they would be notifying the inductees shortly. I read the email quickly and then deleted it. I forgot about it entirely as near-record snowfall doused Salem in a panic. Businesses closed down for the weekend as the roads were covered in over a foot of snow. We had to leave my car at the in-law’s house, because we couldn’t get it up the hill to our apartment, and all day Saturday chains or traction tires were required to drive in town. So, we dug the Kia Soul out of the snow at the bottom of our hill, and Trevor fought with the poor little transmission until the car was magically out on the road. We drove carefully up to the corner pizza shop on Saturday, had a few slices and a beer each, and then went home to build a snowman behind our back  patio. The snowman was followed by a snowball fight that Trevor decidedly won, and then snow angel making, at which I was better. It was the perfect snow day.

So later we’re making dinner, pulled pork nachos, when I check my email. One new message from Torrid Literature. What? And sure enough, folks, the readers voted my story as their favorite in that issue! I still can’t quite believe it. The other two stories were very good. Much more hard hitting and thought provoking than mine. At least, that’s what I think. ‘Fallen Star’ is such a subtle, and comparatively quiet piece. I just can’t wrap my head around it! 

So, what does it mean to be a member of the Torrid Literature Hall of Fame?

Well, I get a certificate, which is pretty cool. They list my name on their website, along with a bio listing my publication credits and my blog address. Also, they will announce all of this themselves on their website and via their social media. It’s all very exciting! And of course, this is just one more feather in my proverbial cap. Another anecdote to add to my portfolio. And that is something to be proud of.

So thank you readers! I literally could not have done it without you!

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

