Not-So-New Year’s Resolutions

It’s been a busy new year. I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting the blog. That tends to happen when I neglect my other forms of writing. I did get some work done on the new novel, about 300 words so far. But, it’s not even noon yet, and I don’t work until 3:30, so there’s plenty of time to get more work in.

I wanted to just give an update on my life and writing, and get rid of some of the mess clogging up my brain. Namely wedding stuff.

The venue is reserved, we are officially getting married July 26th at 5pm!
The officiant, a friend of ours, is booked.
The Save the Dates are ordered, and would have been here today if the FedEx guy had waited five minutes for me to get to the door at 8:20 this morning.
The rings are set aside, payments are being made.
The dress is paid for.
My vows are on a tentative fourth draft.

And despite all of this being done, there is so much left to do.

We still have to register.
I’ve scheduled a Floral Consultation. Luckily one of my coworkers is also a Florist.
We’ve narrowed down potential caterers, but still need to schedule consultations, and get a solid budget for food.
And we need to do the same for the Cake.
I need to officially book my photographer, one of my regulars at work.
Invitations need to be bought.

Add in all the little details like table linens and decor, and I’m officially swamped. But, we are attending a Bridal Expo this weekend, and hopefully registering on Sunday. Things are getting done, slowly but surely.

Other, non-wedding things have been taking up a bit of my time as well. Like our phones. We were on a family plan with my mother, which cost us next to nothing. Not really fair to my mom, but we offered to pay her more and she always turned us down. Well, she decided to switch carriers, and we didn’t want to, so now we’re on our own line, which costs a lot more than what we were paying. But I got a sweet new phone out of the deal, so it’s not that bad.

I’ve accomplished some of the “new me” things I talked about back in November.

  • I got my cartilage pierced, which hurt like hell. But, I love it, and can’t wait for the day when it’s not tender anymore.
  • I stopped biting my nails, mostly. I’ve relapsed a couple times, but generally I’ve stopped and my fingers look much healthier for it.
  • I got my epic haircut, which I’ve probably already talked about. It’s grown out some, which I like on the long side, but the short side is in need of a trim. But since that’s the side with my cartilage piercing, I’m going to hold off for a few months.
  • I got another tattoo, my Doctor Who one on my left forearm and am planning another one for sometime in April.
  • I’m also planning to get my doubles done after the cartilage piercing has calmed down.
  • I’ve lost some weight, which isn’t something I’m really trying to do, but I’m generally eating better, and less. Portion awareness works wonders apparently.

So, it’s been a productive new year in nearly every aspect of my life. Except for writing. And it’s eating me up.

Nearly every day I find myself thinking about writing, but not making the time. My mind wanders to the new story far more frequently than it does ‘Vessels’, which is good. Though occasionally I’ll see something that will make me think of Val, as if she’s an old friend to reminisce about. I think that means the distance is growing, and sometime soon I’ll be able to begin editing.

But, not today. Today I’m working on ‘Cards’. Slowly. The story feels like a trickle in my brain. Something constant, but not demanding. Maybe Whit’s just a little more patient than Val.

I don’t know. With ‘Vessels’ I didn’t know where the story was going, and that kept me focused on writing to find out. But with ‘Cards’, I know where we’re going, and I feel decidedly less excited to write it. But, that’s not fair to this story, because it’s good. It deserves to be told. So, I’m going to keep working on it, even if it’s just a chapter every few weeks.

I don’t think it will be like that, though. I just think I’m not in the habit of writing, and so the writing is slow. But once I come up with a schedule and adhere to it, the words will come, no problem.

I just have to make the time. And I know that. So that’s what I aim to do.

I’m going to finish this novel, hopefully before the wedding. But definitely before Thanksgiving!

Thanks for following along on this journey blogland.

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

