Not Quite Dragons…

Ok Blogland, let’s take a trip.

Remember, way back in January, when I said I wanted to be more accountable? When I really wanted to be consistent with my writing? When I promised to make an effort on this blog?

Yeah, I barely remember either.

But, it’s all still true. I know, and am the first to admit, that I’m not the most consistent when it comes to writing. I feel as if I never have the time. And I also know that I’m really good at making excuses.

I almost let those excuses keep me from doing something great.

Yesterday morning, I checked Facebook and my email like I do every morning. My daily paper, if you will. But, an email from a friend back in Arizona caught my eye.

Adam, a member of my creative writing group back home, is a mad Sci-Fi genius in his own right. The kid can dream up new scenarios and worlds, and then map them out in exquisite detail like it’s no body’s business. He’s written short stories that always amaze me, and make me jealous and a little self-concious. He’s working on a HUGE fantasy series that intimidates me by its sheer size, let alone its complexities, world building, and plot twists. Some day, this kid is going to be huge. Just you wait and see.

So when I get a barebones email, containing a few words and a link, I have to see what he’s talking about.

The link sends me to a website titled, “Write About Dragons”. I’ve never heard of it. On the page is a video of Brandon Sanderson (my idol and writing God) welcoming everyone to the Summer class. Below that is the description of an online writing course held from July 1-Septemeber. I can’t read all the details fast enough, my excitement is building, and I about lose it when I read that it’s FREE!

And then I scan over the course-load. Watch a video of Sanderson lecture every Monday, submit a minimum of 1,000 words every Thursday, then critique at least 4 other submissions by the following Monday.

I deflate.

“I don’t have time for that.”

I literally said those words. Images of my daily life flash through my head, my work schedule already seeming like more than I can take some weeks.

I nearly give up.

Until a small voice pipes up. I’m reminded that I once worked two jobs and went to school full time. That I have time to write everyday, even though I don’t act like it. And, that I would get to learn from Sanderson.

Ok, sure. He’s not actually holding the course, and he won’t be reading my work, but the class is based on his lectures. Why wouldn’t I do that?

So, I talked myself out of my pit of despair and registered yesterday!

Not only is Adam participating, but so is another member of my group, Gillian, and a fellow blogger Benjamin H. Hebert check him out here:

http://bnjmnhebert.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/july-is-dragon-month/

So, class starts Monday, the first. And let’s not forget that my story ‘Fallen Star’ is set to appear in Torrid Literature’s journal on the first as well.

This summer is set to be amazing, and filled with writing!

I absolutely can’t wait to see what this class has in store, and how much ‘Vessels’ can grow over the course of the summer!

Thanks Blogland,

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

