Day Three of Actually Writing

Blogland,

It’s day three of writing, and I’ve got about 2 and 3/4 chapters completed. Today before work I crossed the 6,000 word mark, which in three days is pretty impressive, at least for myself.

Obviously everything is rough at this point, but over 2,000 words per chapter has been something I’ve struggled with in the past.

On an initial observation I’d say it has to do with point of view. In my other novel, the story is told from two separate points of view, but both are in first person. I used to stand behind first person as my favorite to both read and write, generally finding it more entertaining. But now, as I progress through this story, I’m telling it in third person and finding that it allows me to describe things more.

In a first person story, you don’t want to spend too much time or detail on scenery or people, because it might seem odd for your character to spend so much time or focus on something not actually important to the character.

But in a third person narrative describing the setting and other characters seems much more natural, and helps keep the pace of dialogue and action flowing.

Overall, I’m finding third person story telling to make more sense, but there’s no way in hell I’m going to rewrite the entire Kevin Foxx novel now. So I’m hoping that practicing with this new story will allow me to see the novel in a new light, and help give me the motivation to finish those last few chapters.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at so far. 

I’ve got a lovely co-worker who is willing to be my first reader for this new story, so here’s a shout out to Emily. Thanks, even though I haven’t sent you anything yet… oops.

Also, pending how Emily’s readings go, I could have a rough version of the first chapter up either end of the week, or early next week. So keep an eye out for that.

Let me apologize now for the odd rambling gait of this post. I’ve worked an 8+ hour day, wrote for almost two hours before that, and didn’t sleep that well these last few nights. Safe to say my mind is frayed.

It’s time for this little writer to land her butt in bed. Thanks all for getting this far.

 

BZ

 

Leave a Reply

