Bad Little Writer…

Dear Blogland,

I’ve been one bad little writer. Instead of keeping up the momentum of a near week of 1,000+ words a day, I ceased writing completely. Instead I opted to watch more Doctor Who and start and finish Brandon Sanderson’s Warbreaker.

Yes, I’ve been bad. But, reading a book from start to finish is something I haven’t done in quite a while. It’s rejuvenating and gives my brain a chance to stop thinking about Kevin Foxx and Jeff Zimmer, and focus on the wonders of Brandon Sanderson’s prose. He’s one of the few writers that I can honestly just read. I don’t pick apart his writing, I just immerse myself in it. Then, after the book is finished, I ask myself, “how did he make me forget about writing?”

He’s definitely someone I study and return to consistently.

And so now I’ve spent a week or so plunged into a magical and politically taut world. I’m pretty much ready to pick up where I left off, and get this novel done!

I’m going to the beach today with my coworkers, which I’m really looking forward to. I find that time outdoors is always cleansing and thought provoking. The perfect catalyst for getting my writing back on track.

And, as a little update, I’m currently reading Martyn Pig by Kevin Brooks. He’s my favorite author, and his style has a direct effect on my novel. First person. A lot of internalizations. Characters who think in interesting ways, and somehow make sense to my brain.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at. Thanks for keeping up with me!

 

BZ

Leave a Reply

