Update on the Writing

Blogland,

So far today I’ve written 1,234 words! This makes for the 4th straight day of writing 1,000 words or more!

I set a summer writing goal before the end of the semester. We all did in my class. My goal is to finish the rough draft of my novel by September 1st. I have 37 days left to finish 9 chapters, about five of which have no content yet at all.

But, I’m feeling extremely positive. I really think I’m going to make it. My word count might not be the best, but there’s always room for expansion in the editing process.

Today I wrote the climax of the book from the villain’s perspective. It was way more fun than it probably should have been. He’s so evil! I love it! I don’t even know what to say about it, because I liked every bit of it so much.

Sorry, but I probably won’t be sharing it on here- I can’t give ALL the good bits away!

One big thing that has really helped me focus up is Scrivener. I’m sure I’ve talked about it on here before but it is just an amazing piece of software. It has a palette that tracks your writing progress. So I put in the number of words I need to have by September 1st, and it gives me how many words I need to write each day to make my goal a reality. Then, as you start typing, it tracks how many words you’re writing with a progress bar that changes color the closer you get to the day’s goal.

It’s a fairly inexpensive software that is absolutely necessary for me now. I couldn’t imagine trying to write a novel without Scrivener!

At least check it out if you’re interested. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Anyway, happy writing, blogland!

BZ

Leave a Reply

