Desert Nights

All right, here’s a quick post while I’m killing time. And if there seem to be any bizarre typos it’s not my fault, I’m writing this from my iPhone.

So, this morning has been quite the adventure. Fell asleep at around 1-1:30 last night and woke up at 5:30 this morning. Then I drove in the dark to the park and ride on Price and Apache. From there I decided the ticket machine and boarded my first ever light rail! Gotta say, it’s exactly like riding the metro in Europe, just above ground. Thank goodness I’ve done that before though, because it really helped.

A handful if stops later and I’m on the ASU campus, wandering the malls. I’ve walked pretty far ad I’m thinking I’ve passed it when there it is:

A structure tucked away, hidden and dwarfed by its multi-storied counterparts. This quaint house on this enormous campus is my destination. The Virginia G. Piper Writer’s House, where, in 30 minutes I will check in and the Desert Nights, Rising Stars Writer’s conference will begin.

Now, I just have to wait.

And where the hell is the coffee?!?

Leave a Reply

