Visual Outline Exercise

Just a quick one tonight guys, mainly because I have time to kill, and because I think this’ll be interesting.

For my novel writing class, we have to prepare a visual outline to present. Now, at first I was confused. Visual outline of the entire story? How? And then Malik explained it.

Go through your entire novel, beginning to end, and find pictures that represent the moments and scenes. You can draw them, find them on the internet, or pretty much anywhere.

Also, I built albums in my Photos folders that are filled with just story related things. For example, I have a “Characters” folder, filled with pictures of what my characters look like, or at least the closest I could find on the web. I also have a folder of just setting images. My novel takes place in Seattle, so I dug up pictures of all sorts of stuff from my favorite city.

If you have Scrivener, which I highly recommend, it has all of these options in the templates for you, which is really cool. But, if you intend to do any sort of presentation of the images, the software isn’t really set up to handle that, so I used iPhoto instead.

Not only is this a good way to share your story with others, but it helps you think of your story in different ways, and allows for some visual stimulation. As writers, we tend to get caught up in words, but you know the saying, “a picture is worth a thousand words”. As we good as we are, sometimes a picture says it all.

Anyway, this is a good exercise, especially if you’re one to ding around on the internet when you should be writing!

Keep your pens to paper!

BZ

P.S. We start workshopping two of my chapters tomorrow… Wish me luck!

One thought on “Visual Outline Exercise

  1. Reblogged this on amberdover and commented:

    Here’s a post from a blog I just subscribed to. I like this idea for Hear the Writer Roar! Tuesday. Also I like to listen to ambient music for inspiration. I just wrote a scary scene in the Woods of Shazaar and I found some night sounds (owls, wolves, crickets etc) to use…it really helped me visualize. God bless and remember The High King lives! ~Amber Dover

Leave a Reply

