Revision and Inspiration

Just a short blurb to start off the week!

So, my Novel class was cancelled today, which is a shame, but it gave me time to sleep in and get to work on my story.

After work tonight I came home and immediately started working on my novel. I had my boyfriend proofread my first two chapters, which was super helpful, and I’ve already added some rough scenes and moments to add depth and length. It was a great and much needed injection of inspiration!

My story is set in the heart of Seattle, which is my favorite city in the world. In order to get the “feel” of the city into my story I’ve been doing quite a bit of research. I’ve been scanning google maps for street names and restaurants on a nearly daily basis. For the last week I’ve been listening to grunge music nonstop, which I also LOVE. And tonight I surfed the web and searched my own photos for images of iconic Seattle. Now pictures of Pike’s Place Market, the Space Needle, and the EMP (Experience Music Project) are waiting to be taped into my notebook. We are, of course, out of tape, so I’ll be using the school’s tape tomorrow, hehe.

This might seem verging on crazy to some, but I have to have Seattle with me at all times, because you never know when you’ll have a great idea. Or when you’ll be absolutely stuck, and you need something else to focus on. Having these pictures in my writing notebook will make my writing that much better. I’m sure of it.

Expect a post about craft or element of writing fiction around Thursday, and I’ll have a scene from my novel up sometime this weekend!

Brittany

Leave a Reply

