Moving Forward with New Ideas

So, I’ve been thinking a bit about this blog, and just what I want to do with it, and I’ve come up with a format.

Every week I will post at least one piece of my original work. Whether that’s a scene of fiction I’ve been working on, an old blog that I think has some good qualities of craft, or an entire short story I feel has been edited up enough to be presentable to the world totally depends on the week and where I’m at with whatever I’m working on.

Also, I will post at least once a week discussing either some element of craft that’s been discussed in one of my writing classes or some piece of reading I’ve done, or some little observations I’ve made throughout my day.

For instance, today I spent almost 5 hours in Bookman’s, a local used bookstore, working on my novel. I typed up quite a bit of stuff, three chapters! Now, these all admittedly need even more work, and I am desperately trying to understand how to make my chapters longer without making them boring. But, I am blessed with a reading partner who is incredibly detail oriented and she is helping me immensely (Thanks Gillian!).

So, not only did I sit and write, and write, and write, but I also researched a little more about my story’s various locations within Seattle. I want to live there SOOOOOO BAD.

And, I picked up a few books while I was there: Suttree by Cormac McCarthy, The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson, and First Avenue by Lowan Clausen, which was recommended to me by a regular at my work because it takes place in Seattle and has a crime/murder theme, kind of like my story, although my story’s crime element is much more subtle.

So, not today, but definitely before next week, we’ll have my first piece of writing up for the world to see!

-Brittany

Leave a Reply

